CloudCenter provides a feature to prevent the termination of nodes when an application is in the process of being deployed. This feature allows you to prevent an inadvertent stoppage from the CloudCenter platform and thus avoid interrupting production deployments.
The Terminate Protection feature is only applicable to N-tier jobs.
If you enable terminate protection for a job (Job A1), and disable terminate protection in the deployment environment and this deployment is active, then Job A1 cannot be terminated.
If you enable both the aging policy and the prevent termination feature, the prevent termination feature takes precedence.
Be aware of the automatic termination by the CloudCenter platform in the following cases:
The CloudCenter platform terminates VMs randomly once a scale down is executed.
The CloudCenter platform does not terminate jobs when the user runs out of credits.
Both batch actions or single actions are available to terminate VMs as listed in the Deployment Details section.
You can terminate a single running VM(s) using one of two methods:
Use the Scale Down option from the Deployment Details > Tier Header. This method allows you to terminate one VMs or even, multiple VMs at the same time.
Use the Terminate action from the Actions dropdown for the VM. See Deployment Details > The VMs Tab. This method allows you to terminate the specified VM.
You can also terminate multiple, specific VMs using batch actions as specified in the Deployment Details > VM-Based Tiers section.
The Allow Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle switch is OFF by default in the Deployment Environment form's Policy Setting tab. This default setting makes the Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle invisible to users in the Deploy form.
To configure visibility of the Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle in the Deploy form, you can change the toggle switch as highlighted in the following screenshot.
The Allow Terminate/Suspend Protection toggle switch allows you to set the visibility of the
OFF (Default): The is not visible from the Deploy form when this environment is selected at deploy time. setting
ON: The is visible on the Deploy form when this environment is selected at Deploy time. setting
When Deploying an Application (Step 3), the General Settings section of the Deploy form will correspondingly display the
Enable Terminate Protection
If a termination policy executes on a VM on which terminate protection is enabled, then protection overrides termination.
You can also prevent termination by selecting the Enable Terminate Protection option in the Deployments page from the Actions dropdown list and confirm your intention in the Enable Terminate Protection popup. The following screenshot shows this Actions drop-down list.
When you enable the Terminate Protection feature, you will not be allowed to Stop, Suspend, or Migrate the deployment. However, you can promote the deployment, if required, to a different environment.
To allow termination, select the Disable Terminate Protection option and confirm your intention to Disable Terminate Protection popup.
Terminate Existing Deployment
You can terminate an existing deployment using the Terminate existing deployment option.
You can set this option when promoting or migrating an application. See Deployment and VM States for additional context.
This feature has the following options:
Terminate: Terminates the deployment
Hide: Just hide this job (for jobs with Errors)
Terminate and Hide: Terminates and hides the deployment
- No labels