Sharing Cloud Regions and Cloud Accounts
Clouds, cloud regions, and cloud accounts that are created within a tenant are automatically co-owned by all tenant admins. In Workload Manager, standard users do not have direct access to these elements for deploying workloads. Instead users deploy workloads through an intermediary construct: the deployment environment. However, it is possible to directly share specific cloud regions and cloud accounts with subtenants as explained in Tenant Management > Manage Clouds. Once a cloud region or cloud account is shared with a subtenant, admin users in that subtenant can use those regions and accounts for creating their own deployment environments. However, the admins in the subtenant cannot edit or delete those shared accounts or regions.
Deleting Clouds, Cloud Regions and Cloud Accounts
Deleting clouds, cloud regions and cloud accounts must be done in a certain sequence.
Before you can delete a multi region cloud you must first delete all regions for that cloud. Only after you delete all regions will the delete icon appear for the cloud in the Clouds page.
Before you can delete a region you must first delete all cloud accounts associated with that cloud. If you attempt to delete a region when any cloud accounts are assigned to the cloud, you will get an error message as follows:
Similarly, before you can delete a single region cloud you must first delete all cloud accounts associated with that cloud. Otherwise, you will see an error message as shown below:
Before you can delete a cloud account you must first remove that cloud account from all deployment environments in which it is used. Otherwise, you we see an error message as shown below:
Therefore, to delete a cloud follow these steps:
- From the Clouds page, select the cloud and click its Configure Cloud link which displays the page for this cloud. The page for this cloud will be displayed as shown below.
- From the page for this cloud, select the Accounts tab. The Accounts tab is displayed as shown below.
- From the Accounts tab, delete all accounts one by one by clicking the Delete link in the Actions column. If an error about deployment environments appears, click on the Main Menu > Environments menu tab, browse the deployment environments for any references to the account, and remove the account from those deployment environments. When done, return to the Clouds page.
- From the Clouds page, If the cloud is a single region cloud, the Delete Cloud link for that cloud will appear in the left side of the Clouds page, as shown in the figure below. Click the Delete Cloud link. You are done.
- If the cloud is a multi-region cloud, on the left side of the Clouds page, select the cloud. This causes the regions for this cloud to be displayed on the right side of the Clouds page as shown in the figure below. For each cloud region, click on its Delete Region link.
- After you delete all cloud regions associated with a cloud, the Clouds page will appear as shown below. Click the Delete Cloud link for the cloud on the left side of the page. You are done.
- No labels