Manage Actions

Overview

The following management functions can be applied to actions created by you or shared with you:

  • Edit - If you have manage or modify permission for a custom action, you can modify it via the Actions Edit form.
  • Share - If you have manage permission for a custom action, you may share it with other users, groups, and subtenants. If you are a tenant admin for the root tenant, you also have the ability to control which users, groups and subtenants can see and use the OOB on-demand actions.
  • Delete - If you have manage permission for a custom action, you may delete it. However, if the action is a lifecycle action and is referred to in an application profile, service or cloud region setting, it cannot be deleted until all of the references to it are deleted. 

Edit an Action

To edit an action, from the list of actions on the Actions Library page, click on the row containing the action you want to edit. This displays the Edit Action form. The Edit Action form is similar to the New Action form as explained in Create a Custom Action with the following restrictions:

  • The action category (on-demand or lifecycle) cannot be changed.
  • The action type cannot be changed.
  • For the actions using the Invoke web service action type, the Select Resource to Map field can only be changed after all resource mappings associated with that resource have been deleted.

When done editing an action click the Done button to save it.

Share an Action

Custom Actions

To share a custom action that you have to manage permissions for, from the list of actions on the Actions Library page, for the action you want to share, hover over the Action column until you see the dropdown menu icon appear. Once it appears, click on the dropdown icon to display the dropdown menu. Click the Share command from the dropdown menu.  This causes the Share dialog box for custom actions to be displayed. Grant view, modify or manage access to all users in your tenant, or to any user, group or subtenant as appropriate. Click Save when you are done.

OOB On-Demand Actions

By default, all OOB on-demand actions are visible to all users in all tenants. However, as a tenant administrator of the root tenant, you can restrict which users, groups and tenants can see and use the OOB platform actions. To do this, from the list of actions on the Actions Library page, for the action you want to share, hover over the Action column until you see the dropdown menu icon appear. Once it appears, click on the dropdown icon to display the singe command: Disable Default Share, then click on that command. Once the default sharing is disabled, the action is only visible to the user, groups, or tenants that you explicitly share it with. When default sharing is turned off, clicking on the Action dropdown menu icon reveals two commands: Share and Enable Default Share. Select Enable Default Share to restore sharing with all users in all tenants. Select Share to bring up the Share dialog box for custom actions. This allows you to share the action with only certain, users, group and subtenants.

Delete an Action

To delete a custom action that you have to manage permissions for, from the list of actions on the Actions Library page, for the action you want to delete, hover over the Action column until you see the dropdown menu icon appear. Once it appears, click on the dropdown icon to display the dropdown menu. Click the Delete command from the dropdown menu. If the action is not a lifecycle action referenced in a service definition, application profile, or region tab, Workload Manager displays a dialog box to confirm the deletion. If the action is a custom lifecycle action referenced by a resource, Workload Manager will display an information box listing all of the resources where the action is referenced and explain that all of those references to the lifecycle action must be deleted before the action can be deleted.

Disable an OOB On-Demand Action

If you are a tenant administrator for the root tenant, you have the ability to disable some or all of the Workload Manager OOB on-demand actions via toggle switches in the Enable column on the Actions Library Page. To disable an OOB on-demand action, click the corresponding Enable toggle which sets it to OFF. When you set an Enable toggle to OFF, the corresponding on-demand action will disappear from these areas of the Workload Manager UI for all users:

  • the Virtual Machines List page,
  • the Virtual Machine Details page,
  • the VMs tab within a VM-based tier in the tiers tab of the Job Details page.

To re-enable a disabled OOB on-demand action, click the corresponding Enable toggle again which sets it to ON. The corresponding action will reappear in the three Workload Manager UI screens mentioned above.

  • No labels
Terms & Conditions Privacy Statement Cookies Trademarks